Erskine College Board Announces President’s Final Year

The Board of Trustees of Erskine College and Theological Seminary has announced that Erskine President Dr. Robert E. Gustafson has decided to complete his tenure at the end of this fiscal year, June 30, 2021.

The Rev. Clint Davis, who serves as trustee chair, said, “Under Dr. Gustafson’s leadership since 2016, Erskine has been able to build a strong foundation for the future, which promises to be bright. For that we thank God.”

Davis informed Erskine faculty and staff members in a meeting Feb. 5 of the president’s decision to conclude his service at Erskine. The president also addressed the Erskine gathering, commending professors, administrators, and staff for their faithful work amid the difficulties of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Gustafson, a graduate of Erskine Theological Seminary, began his service at Erskine when he was named interim president Nov. 1, 2016. He was appointed Erskine’s 17th president in the spring of 2017 and was inaugurated Feb. 16, 2018.

“The Board will vote to form a presidential search committee during its next stated meeting February 19, 2021,” Davis said. “Once formed, the committee will begin the search for Erskine’s next president immediately.”

Photo above shows Dr. Robert Gustafson at his inauguration in the Due West ARP Church. (Article originally posted on here.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *